RIP: Bill McLaren - 1923-2010 - The Voice of Rugby

I’m ever so upset about the death of Bill McLaren and just needed to post my tribute – so excuse me if you’re completely not interested.


I can’t remember being so upset by a celebrity death. I grew up listening to Bill McLaren calling Wales win Grand Slam after Grand Slam in the 70s, and I have always associated that voice with that golden era of Welsh Rugby and father-son quality time. His voice was the sound of the greatest game in the world. As someone eulogised about him, “he was the voice of fairness” in such a passionately partisan competition (the six nations) and despite his obvious Scottishness, you always felt he genuinely wanted Rugby to be the winner. As someone else said, his commentary: “…sent a shiver down my spine!” It could also bring tears to the eyes.

He did of course famously give birth to “…and they’ll be cheering in the streets of {insert star player/try-scorer’s home town} tonight”. (This phrase was of course amusingly bastardised to comment on Manchester United’s convenient adoption by fair-weather fans as “…and they’ll be cheering in the streets of Bournemouth tonight.”)

I really am not sure if Rugby has ever sounded the same since he retired. Every Six Nations game since is commentated by a series of people who aren’t Bill McLaren. (I had an Uncle who worked on BBC’s Rugby Special and Nigel Stamer-Smith gave the eulogy at his funeral. Even then I remember thinking “he’s not Bill McLaren”.) He was to Rugby Union what Motty is to Football. His chuckle, knowledge and Scottish stac…ca…to crescendos to the great tries of our time will be so sorely missed.

They say Rugby Union is the game they play in Heaven…well The HBC has just got a new star commentator!